A Blending of Intellect with Spirit

I have lived as a Transgender Woman for the past four years. Moreover, since I was a teenager, I have carried an inexpressible but deeply-felt knowledge that I am neither man nor woman but am of a Third Sex. Unfortunately, American society continues to be deeply hostile towards individuals who depart from rigid, physically-based definitions of gender.

This morning, an unlikely passage of scripture gave me hope that my life of blending scholarly, intellectual knowledge with unworldly, spiritual depth is my proper path:

“At this point Festus interrupted Paul’s defense. ‘You are out of your mind, Paul!’ he shouted. ‘Your great learning is driving you insane.’
‘I am not out of my mind, most excellent Festus,’ Paul replied. What I am saying is true and reasonable.'” (Acts 27:24-25)

Here, in chapter 27 of Acts, the Apostle Paul is standing trial to defend his faith and his liberty before the Roman officials, King Agrippa and Governor Festus. The governor, assuming the role of prosecution, reveals his deep-seated anti-intellectualism, but is unable to bring formal charges against Paul. King Agrippa, in the role of judge, is more kindly disposed towards Paul and refuses to extradite him to his Fundamentalist adversaries in Jerusalem.

In this new year, I resolve to meditate and pray upon the example of Apostle Paul. The particulars of my heartfelt faith in the Divine Feminine likely differ from his First Century synthesis of Judaism and Christianity. Yet, there is much I can learn from his courteous and compassionate manner of defending himself before worldly powers. Paul’s great portion of the Divine Spirit empowered him with the kindness and calmness to stand and endure the shortsightedness of Roman officials and the vitriol of Fundamentalists. Paul’s education and knowledge enabled him to successfully defend himself with words, rather than with violence.

I resolve to seek learning which can serve to defend my lived-out faith of devotion to Goddess as well as my sisters and brothers of the transgender community. In addition, I must endeavor to aid in the education of my sisters and brothers. Let peace, love, and prosperity come in this new year to all who read this posting!

2 thoughts on “A Blending of Intellect with Spirit

  1. Your latest blog, Darlene, was very thought-provoking. It gives me great comfort to know that there is much more diversity in understanding who God is. A true friend and a continual learner, Reverend Marsha Mitchener, who is minister of the First Existential Congregation of Atlanta, inspired me to see the Divine as both God and Goddess.
    Katrice

Leave a Reply

