Direct Experience of the Divine for Individuals and Minority Communities

Psalm 121 (NIV)
1. I lift my eyes to the hills – where does my help come from?
2. My help comes from the Lord, the Maker of heaven and earth.
3. He will not let your foot slip – he who watches over you will not slumber;
4. Indeed, he who watches over Israel will neither slumber nor sleep.
5. The Lord watches over you – the Lord is your shade at your right hand;
6. The sun will not harm you by day, nor the moon by night.
7. The Lord will keep you from all harm – he will watch over your life;
8. the Lord will watch over your coming and going both now and forevermore.

This psalm glorifies the loving Father of the Hebrew people who shelters them during their travels. The “shade at your right hand” may be in reference to the pillar of cloud which sheltered the Hebrew people from the desert sun during the Exodus (Exodus 13:20-22). This psalm likely refers not only to the Exodus, but all the travels of His chosen people, including exile and diaspora. Regardless of how far and wide the Jewish people have been scattered and oppressed as a minority community, their Father is by their side “now and forevermore.”

In my life, the Divine Spirit is revealed to me as a loving Mother. It is possible that my own Eternal Mother is of the same substance as the Great Mother Cybele of ancient times who chose eunuchs and other transgender-like people for Her priesthood. I am convinced that in an ideal world individuals and communities experience their unique revelation of the Divine. Otherwise, secondhand conceptualizations of the Divine are imposed on individuals and minority communities by the rich, influential, and powerful. Thus, in the modern world, there is a need for many spiritual exoduses from religions fabricated by the ruling elites.

In this spirit, I wrote the following hymn to recount my own individual exodus towards intimacy with the Divine Feminine:

Mother Most Beloved, Goddess Queen of skies above
Guide my feet upon your Freedom’s way!
When through lonely deserts your cloud shades me on your path;
Never will I thirst when your Life-Giving Well springs forth.

Mother Most Divine, Loveliest in skies above,
Guide my feet upon your Freedom’s way!
How you’ve lent your heaven’s fire to guide my heart and mind!
I don’t fear the night-time when I’m lead before your Light.

Mother Most Beloved, Goddess Queen of skies above
Guide my feet upon your Freedom’s way!
I can feel your gentle Spirit warming me inside;
I don’t fear the winter storms; I’m held in Love Divine!

One thought on “Direct Experience of the Divine for Individuals and Minority Communities

Leave a Reply

