Easter Drumming in the Southern Appalachians

For this past Easter Sunday, my partner and I had dinner at my parent's house in northeast GA.  I modeled my new ceremonial dress and beat out some rhythms on my drum before the greening trees, and freshly-planted garden.

For this past Easter Sunday, my partner and I had dinner at my parent’s house in northeast GA. I modeled my new ceremonial dress and beat out some rhythms on my drum before the greening trees and freshly-planted garden.

In my longing to capture the lost, ancient faith in Great Mother Cybele, I hand-stitched a ceremonial dress from a costume pattern. My partner, Monica, was quite impressed when I modeled my dress and drummed at my parent’s house this past Easter (April 20). My mom and dad did not care to know about my efforts to act out my spirituality. They figured instead I was preparing an outfit for the Atlanta Greek Festival.

One thought on “Easter Drumming in the Southern Appalachians

Leave a Reply

