Getting Acquainted with the Atlanta Beltline

Earlier this evening, I jogged from John Howell Park to Piedmont Park. Along the venerable residential streets, luxuriant summer flowers graced the sidewalks and the soothing, not-so-urban fragrance of the foliage re-invigorated me. Then, I crossed the Park Drive pedestrian bridge, scampered down the steps, and circled the dog park to run the gravel path which borders the east edge of Piedmont Park.

An Atlanta Beltline milepost, east side of Piedmont Park.

An Atlanta Beltline milepost, east side of Piedmont Park.

 

I looped by the vegetable garden and it’s “Thoreau Cabin” then took the boardwalk through the bottomland beside the Atlanta Botanical Garden.

 

The shed beside the Piedmont Park vegetable garden.

The shed beside the Piedmont Park vegetable garden.

View along bottomland boardwalk.

View along bottomland boardwalk.

 

As I have done for the past four years during my runs, I recited my prayers to the Goddess.  I do not know anyone else who prays or meditates during running, but my spiritual practices enhance my runner’s high.  For people not given to spiritual practice, the simple loveliness of nature and the elegant architecture of Piedmont Park both provide unrivaled respite from the work-week.   I hope this post inspires more people to run, walk, or bike along the new Atlanta Beltline.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Getting Acquainted with the Atlanta Beltline

  1. Hi, Darlene! I often pray when I’m swimming laps and ask for God’s help to make it through my exercises! I ask Her for guidance throughout my day and swimming just seems a great time to awaken both my mind and body to Her blessings. You’re an amazing writer and a beautiful woman. I’m so glad to know you!

    • Swimming is the best exercise. I’m impressed at your motivation and how you use the time to commune with the Divine! — Even though I know how to swim, I’m actually frightend of swimming. Hugs to you!

Leave a Reply

