Earth, Sky, and Fire (Part II).

Last Saturday, July 26, Monica and I went to a rocket-launching meet down near Unadilla, GA.  The launch was set up on  a sod field in the midst of what remains of cotton-growing country.   Monica and I worked through sweltering humidity and black clouds of buzzing gnats to launch our collection of kit-built and scratch-built rockets.  I launched my first two rockets that I ever built.

My Estes Kit model rockets, Blue Star (left) and Knave of Hearts on our assembly table.

My Estes Kit model rockets, Blue Star (left) and Knave of Hearts on our assembly table.

 

Monica launched her scratch-built “Skynet” rocket which carried a mini-digital camera which took a spinning, dizzying video from inside the rocket during the launch.  I did not post the footage from inside the rocket, but I took slow-motion video of the Skynet lauch.  Note that this video has no sound.

 

 

Then, Monica launched her rebuilt Phoenix Missile using a “sparky” I-engine. It flew perfectly atop a cloud of sparks, again, the video lacks sound.

 

 

We weathered the heat and insects much better than everyone else at the meet.  By the time Monica launched her Phoenix, everyone else had packed up there tarps and tables and left.  Only our Southern Association of Rocketry friends, George, Chris, and their families stuck around. Monica and I stayed to the end and helped clean the range — making a glorious weekend under sultry Georgia skies.

 

One thought on “Earth, Sky, and Fire (Part II).

Leave a Reply

