Springtime Rebirth and the Restoration of Desire, part I

The clear skies and balmy warmth of the past two days have drawn me out of my inner-winter. Yesterday was the “Ides of March” and was celebrated in ancient Rome by the gathering of reeds, a full seven days prior to the start of Cybele’s Holy Week. I trust in my Divine Mother as surely as I trust the approach of spring. On the afternoon of the Ides, I could not restrain myself from a jog amidst the reviving ornamental shrubs and flowering trees in the neighborhood to the west of Merritt Road.

Unidentified flowering tree along Mountain View Road, March 15.

Unidentified flowering tree along Mountain View Road, March 15.

The luxuriant growth of pink and white blossoms testified to the Love of Great Mother. Even when winter’s sorrows linger, I feel Her presence deep within me. Finally, in midst of Spring’s restoring warmth, I see the life-giving results of Her presence in the world around. As I struggle with a sense of sexual incompleteness, I find hope and confidence in Divine Mother’s ability to provide. Even if She does not provide the physical intimacy I desire, it is certain She will provide an ineffable sort of intimacy I need. Hence, I pray and sing on the end of winters both within and without.

Consumed by yearning starved heart pangs
I plead before you Goddess Queen!
Midst Winter’s famine my strength fails;
I faint before harsh frigid winds.
Like early springtime violets languish
Under snow, my body fades
in longing for Love’s tender touch,
the nourishing warmth you’ve ordained.
My skin yet bears the chafes and gashes
dealt by ice-tongued whispering hordes.
Dear Goddess, lend your healing presence
as I flee Hate’s prudish words!
Reach forth your Angel’s ardent hand
to guide me to your hearth.  I pray
please bid her stay, her arms enclasped
around me near the fireside blaze.
On her soft bosom, cheek, and breasts
my lovelorn longings are assuaged!

In truth, I reconnected with my partner this weekend. In Her capacity as “Sustainer of Families,” Great Mother filled us both with a sense of tenderness and contentment.

Unidentified flowering tree along Merritt Road, across from Merritt Park, March 16.

Unidentified flowering tree along Merritt Road, across from Merritt Park, March 16.

One thought on “Springtime Rebirth and the Restoration of Desire, part I

Leave a Reply

